Summer series (Day 4) Northern district TT

August 16, 2017

August 13th and Burwain RC Lasers hosted yet another tremendous open meeting, this time the final Northern District Travellers Trophy meet of the summer series. As an indication of the rising standards at the club, 3 Burwain skippers counted in the top 5.


John Sharman won the day, with Hugo Chandor taking 4th place and Richard Whittle 5th. Graham Waugh, notching a second place in the first race may well have scored in the top 5 but had to retire after lunch and hence collected maximum scores in all the afternoon races.


Skippers arrived from Fleetwood MBC, Furness MBC and Southport based West Lancs YC (the host venue for this years National Championship) bringing the total of boats on the start line to a competitive 12.

Extremely light airs dictated A rigs for the day and good judgement combined with an element of fortune dictated the results. 


As Burwain RC Lasers approaches the end of only its first year, it is clear that this has already become one of the top venues in the region for hosting major events.




Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Featured Posts

Two of Burwains' regular fleet chose to race in the final heat of the Northern Area Championships held at Southport.

Those that stayed to earn valuable...

Winter Series (Day 4)

December 16, 2018

Please reload

Recent Posts

January 20, 2020

November 3, 2019

October 7, 2019